25% DISCOUNT on all Spatial Audio Downloads! Use coupon code SPATIAL25

Channa Malkin

This Is Not A Lullaby

In the midst of the coronavirus pandemic, we are excited to bring some positivity and share this story about motherhood with the world.


About the album

Soprano Channa Malkin made her operatic debut at age 16 as Barbarina in Le Nozze di Figaro at the Dutch National Opera. Since then, she has become a sought-after soloist. Highlights include Handel’s Dixit Dominus and William Hayes’ The Fall of Jericho with Holland Baroque, as well as Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra under the baton of Mariss Jansons. Channa is known for her wide expertise, from baroque to Sephardic chamber music. “Her voice is beautiful: a young sound, a mature treatment. Her storytelling is captivating” (Merlijn Kerkhof in De Volkskrant about her debut album Songs of Love and Exile).

The birth of her son Ezra formed a new source of inspiration, with motherhood as a central theme. On her new album for the audiophile label TRPTK This is not a lullaby, she highlights the immense emotional impact of becoming a mother with an unconventional choice of repertoire by Mieczyslaw Weinberg, Sir John Tavener, and her father Josef Malkin.

Channa came across Weinberg’s song cycle Rocking the child during one of many sleepless nights with her baby, and was instantly touched by its honest, unidealized portrayal of a mother’s experience. The cycle is based on the works of Chilean poet Gabriela Mistral from her book Ternura (Tenderness, 1924).

Josef Malkin, Channa’s father, composed his Five Russian Songs on the colourful and haunting poems of Ilya Selvinsky, Boris Ryzhy, Vladimir Riabokon and Anna Akhmatova. Malkin, born in Tbilisi, Georgia, was a violinist in the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra for over 25 years, and his music has been performed by top orchestras and performers across Europe and the United States.

Of all contemporary composers, Sir John Tavener is one of the most iconic. His work is steeped in a deep spirituality, and has a profound impact on the listener. His haunting Akhmatova Songs were inspired by the oeuvre of the prolific Russian poet Anna Akhmatova.

What makes this release extra special is Malkin’s collaboration with Maya Fridman, winner of the Dutch Classical Talent Prize, and the extraordinary pianist Artem Belogurov, who regularly performs in the main concert halls of Europe and the United States. The three artists: “In the midst of the coronavirus pandemic, we are excited to bring some positivity and share this story about motherhood with the world”.

Tracklist click to play/pause

  1. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: I. The child was left alone Mieczysław Weinberg 3:30
  2. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: II. And I am not alone Mieczysław Weinberg 1:55
  3. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: III. Little feet, little hands Mieczysław Weinberg 3:08
  4. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: IV. Rocking the cradle Mieczysław Weinberg 1:54
  5. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: V. Night Mieczysław Weinberg 2:59
  6. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: VI. A sorrowful mother Mieczysław Weinberg 1:05
  7. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: VII. The dew Mieczysław Weinberg 2:35
  8. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: VIII. Meekness Mieczysław Weinberg 1:09
  9. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: IX. Fear Mieczysław Weinberg 4:30
  10. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: X. A discovery Mieczysław Weinberg 2:35
  11. Rocking the Child, Op. 110: XI. My song Mieczysław Weinberg 3:25
  12. Five Russian songs: A letter Josef Malkin 0:48
  13. Five Russian songs: To Polin'ka Josef Malkin 2:42
  14. Five Russian songs: Don't leave me Josef Malkin 3:00
  15. Five Russian songs: The fortune teller Josef Malkin 1:39
  16. Five Russian songs: Lullaby Josef Malkin 1:56
  17. Akhmatova Songs: I. Dante John Tavener 2:19
  18. Akhmatova Songs: II. Pushkin and Lermontov John Tavener 1:49
  19. Akhmatova Songs: III. Boris Pasternak John Tavener 1:52
  20. Akhmatova Songs: IV. Couplet John Tavener 2:27
  21. Akhmatova Songs: V. The Muse John Tavener 3:01
  22. Akhmatova Songs: VI. Death John Tavener 3:37

More information

Genre(s) Classical – Contemporary (> 1920)
Artist(s) Artem Belogurov
Channa Malkin
Maya Fridman
Composer(s) Malkin, Josef
Tavener, John
Weinberg, Mieczysław
Recording location(s) De Philharmonie - Grote Zaal, Haarlem (NL)
Recording date(s) December 2020
Cat. No.

TTK 0069

Release date

April 10th, 2023

Additional links

Download Booklet(PDF)

SKU: TTK 0069 SA Category:
  • No products in the cart.